Taino Speech: Audio Recordings of Arawakan Languages

Greetings to all. One of my goals in maintaining this blog is to begin communicating in the Taino language, in writing and hopefully later in speech. The strategy I am employing has been to study what has been written by others, make comparisons to related languages, and identify and codify the common rules. But, one important concept is proper pronunciation and accent. Of course, the background of the speaker will affect his or her accent, but the basic sound of Arawakan language should be familiar to us. So, I want to share the following links that contains numerous recording of various indigenous languages, particularly, Loko, Garifuna, and Wayuu.

http://globalrecordings.net/en/program/C20630 (Loko recording)

http://globalrecordings.net/en/language/1084 (Garifuna recording)

http://globalrecordings.net/en/language/243 (Wayuu recording)

Enjoy listening,

Isbani

3 thoughts on “Taino Speech: Audio Recordings of Arawakan Languages

  1. I realize the Taíno language is not spoken the way it originally was, but I think what confuses me the most is spelling versus pronunciation. Sometimes I see an ñ in odd parts where I’m not sure if how it is pronounced, where are the nasals located? Assumingly, in Spanish which is my second language, words like ‘ven’, ‘comen’, ‘pan’, ‘en’ are pronounced similar to French or portuguese, at least it is in puerto rico, so Assumingly its Taíno counterpart in some words especially with an accent before the ‘n’ like the word ‘borinkén’ has a nasalized sound at the end, as it’s apparant in everyday speech when speaking (puerto rican) spanish. Another thing I notice is the over pronunciation of vowels especially accented syllables in Spanish, like ‘pájaro’ would be pronounced ‘paaaaajaroo’ it’s over accented and the sound is more distinct versus other Spanish speaking countries (minus Dominican Spanish and Cuban spanish who also over enunciate accented vowels), there’s also a noticeable change in pronunciation of the ‘j’ and ‘h’ sound which is more soft and is pronounced in words that normally it would be silent like in ‘jala’ =to pull (something),. I wonder if all of these differences are due to the Taíno influences or not. Was just curious.

    • Thanks for the comment. Really you could write a book just on what you’re talking about. Different folks will say different things. What about saying things like homper or caho instead of romper or carro? I can give you several reasons why it might be carried over from indigenous language, and it would make sense, but absent serious academic research on the linguistics, we don’t really satisfy our curiosity.

      • O totally, I’ve grown up with spanish and for years I’ve put together tons of words and pronunciation of the Spanish in puerto rico as a reference for my writings, my dad if from Aguadilla PR and all the “rr” and beginning “r” words he pronounces it like an Arabic “h” and I find myself mixing the “rr” sounds and pronouncing words like “arroz” and “carro”, “ajjoz” and “cajjo” and it makes me feel like I’m not talking right so I reteach myself the thrilled r sound jaja but anyhow I enjoy your studies here and look forward to reading more of your blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

